Cricket Trending

3-0 India sweep the T20 Series in Style, Sri Lanka Tour of India 2017

Sri Lanka Tour of India 2017

India won by 5 wickets in India Vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I

India easily secured the T20 series in style at the end of Sri Lanka tour of India 2017 after Test and ODI series wins. The last match of 3-match series was played between India and Sri Lanka on Sunday, December 24, 2017, at Wankhede Stadium Mumbai. Match started at 1:30 PM GMT with India winning the toss and electing to bowl first. The decision from captain favored the hosts and they were successful in limiting Sri Lanka at a low total of 135-7. India showed a good display of bowling and the decision to bowl first worked for the host country as no Sri Lankan batsman could perform well in India Vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I.

India Vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I Match summary:

India and Sri Lanka faced each other in the concluding match of the T-Twenty International series of the Sri Lanka Tour of India 2017. The match was played at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Rohit Sharma the captain of Indian team won the toss and elected to field first. The decision worked out for them as Sri Lanka lost quick wicket of Niroshan Dickwella at just 8 runs. Asela Gunaratne was the top scorer from the Lankan’s side.

Jaydev Unadkat and Hardik Pandya took 2 wickets each while Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, and Kuldeep Yadav dismissed one batsman each.

Sri Lanka Scorecard:

Srilanka Score card

India too could not start better with the bat and lost the first wicket of Lokesh Rahul in the 4th over. Rohit Sharma the captain of team India after Kohli who is off for his wedding holidays with wife Anushka, scored a quick 27 runs in just 20 balls. He smashed 4 four’s and one blistering six with a strike rate of 135. Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey scored 30 and 32 respectively. The top scorer from the Indian side in the India Vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20 international was Manish Pandey with a strike rate of 110.

Dushmantha Chameera and Dasun Shanaka were the only successful bowlers from Sri Lanka who took 2 wickets each. No other bowler from Lankan’s was able to take any wicket.

Indian Scorecard:

India Score Card

India Playing XI:

Rohit Sharma (c), Lokesh Rahul, MS Dhoni (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka playing XI:

Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Upul Tharanga, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Asela Gunaratne, Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera (c), Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep

Man of the Match:

Jaydev Unadkat grabs the medal of a man of the match for his outstanding performance with the ball as the Sri Lanka tour of India concludes with India’s 5 wickets win in 3rd T20I.  He took 2 wickets while giving away 15 runs in his 4 overs spell with an economy of 3.75

About the author

Rashid Ameen

Rashid, a 24-year-old blogger, online marketer, content writer, social media lover and an all-around digital guy. He started writing at a very young age and most of his skills and knowledge are self-taught. He moved into digital medium while doing a digital marketing and content training. Now, he shares his knowledge by contributing to different forums and platforms.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment